The end of an era and a newfound love

About two weeks ago we were shocked when Simon started to inexplicably eat just about anything we offered him off of our own plates. Since then it’s been a whirlwind trip down food highway, destination big people food.  I don’t know what changed, but all of a sudden he wants seasoned food, without a hint of pear in sight.  Here’s just a sample of the foods he’s eaten:

  • cheese enchiladas with beef chili gravy and spanish rice
  • pepperoni pizza
  • saag paneer
  • gourmet grilled cheese
  • hamburger
  • my quinoa, parsley, asparagus salad dressed with lemon juice and olive oil

WTF?

I guess my little boy is growing up.  He still gets his breakfast cereal and smoothies in the morning, but the rest of the day he gets a whole variety of whatever we’ve got going on that day.  He still rejects things (hummus and spaghetti…we’ll try again soon), but on the whole it’s been really exciting! I can’t tell you how proud of him I am.  Every day when Simon’s dad gets home from work I have to give him the full update on what Simon ate that day.  It’s been a daily pleasure, and I’m hoping it’s not a phase, I’m hoping it lasts.  But we shall see…but for now I’m saying that the era of “baby food” is coming to an end.

I’ve also said to hell with the four day intro rule.  He gets what he gets and if he has a reaction, then we’ll deal with it.

One of his favorite new foods is grilled cheese.  I know, classic kid!  This was one of the first items I tried making after he started eating finger foods.  I wanted him to feed himself something a bit more nutritious than Cheerios.  Now he eats some form of grilled cheese every day for lunch. I tried quesadillas, but the tortilla just didn’t seem to dissolve easily in his mouth.  Since he only has four teeth he can’t do much in the form of chewing, he basically works food around his mouth until it softens enough for him to swallow. For this reason he still has trouble with chunks of vegetables and meat, so those always get super finely chopped and incorporated into his sandwich.

I can pretty much put whatever I want into his grilled cheese and he’ll eat it without blinking.  So here we go…

Sharp cheddar, cilantro and green onion quesadilla

Grilled cheese and diced chicken on homemade whole wheat pita

Classic grilled cheese washed down by a banana/yogurt smoothie

And for those of you who don’t know how to make a grilled cheese…

I take one slice of whole wheat bread and cover one half of it with sliced or grated cheddar.

Sprinkle with any other finely diced food item I want to include (chicken, herbs, veggies, etc).

Fold bread in half and press down firmly.

Toast both sides of bread til browned in a frying pan over medium heat.

Allow to cool and dice into baby sized bites.

Stay tuned because next up we’re making risotto and black bean soup!

Leave a Reply

