Purple is the new pink. Babies wear it so well…

If you are what you eat then Simon is definitely a blueberry.  OK, so not JUST a blueberry, a blueberry with some blackberry thrown in and a spoonful of pear. Mix in some plain Greek yogurt and there is Simon’s favorite meal.  If I fed that to him at every meal he’d be perfectly happy.  He gets at least one serving of that exact combination every day. He’s baffled by my attempts to try to feed him those ghastly vegetables like peas and carrots, etc, so I am getting quite skilled at hiding vegetables in his fruit.  For instance, pear masks green beans quite well, and berries mask carrots. Sweet potato and butternut squash are somewhat acceptable depending on his mood, but he always welcomes some apple mixed into that.  He has developed the art of expressing his opinions and isn’t afraid to do so.  Sigh…it was only a matter of time.

So that’s where we stand right now.  He love fruit.  LOVES it, as long as it’s completely pureed with absolutely zero texture.  Oh yeah, did I mention that LUMPS are a HUGE INSULT and will result in INSTANT TERMINATION OF THE MEAL!!!! Sigh….so we’re back to square one on texture, but we’ll get there, we’ll get there.  Perseverance is key!!!

Speaking of fruit, berries are ripe here in Texas. Most specifically, blueberries and blackberries. Both are recommended for babies of his age, so I went ahead and bought several pints of each.  My first attempt at blueberries I followed these instructions at wholesombabyfood.com.  In short, they have you boil the blueberries in some water for a few minutes, pull the berries out and puree them.  Well, it didn’t really work out so well.  I only boiled the berries for about 3 minutes and they burst and let their insides run into the water and I ended up with about 3 cubes of solid blueberry puree and about 10 cubes of blueberry juice.  I’ve been using the juice to thin his oatmeal, so it hasn’t gone to waste, but the second two pint container of blueberries were processed like this:

Take two pints of washed blueberries and place in blender.  Blend.  This part was awesome.  I had no idea you could just puree blueberries without any water.  But they are so soft and have so much liquid already they just squished right up into this thick and beautiful purple paste.  Kind of the consistency of thin yogurt.

I then put the puree in a saucepan and heated it to a boil for about two minutes.  I let it cool and I was done! Ice cube trays, freezer, etc etc, you know the routine. And he LOVES them with yogurt. LOVES them. Did I mention he LOOOOOORRRRRVES blueberries and yogurt? Once or twice? OK, so you get the point.

I also bought two pints of these beautiful blackberries.  This was super simple as well.  I just washed them and tossed them into the food processor and gave it a whirl.  They had the most stunning color once pureed.

Then, due to his mild dislike of texture (MASSIVE UNDERSTATEMENT ALERT!!), I took a spatula and pushed them through my strainer to remove the seeds.  There are a lot of freaking seeds in blackberries!

Ice cube trays, freezer, etc.

Next up, I bought a big bunch of organic spinach! AM I CRAZY??  I just might be!!  I’m going to experiment with incorporating/hiding spinach in his food.  I’ll keep track of the attempts and let you know how it goes!

2 Comments on “Purple is the new pink. Babies wear it so well…”

  1. Rebecca Ray says:

    And may he always love blueberries and greek yogurt – it is what I eat almost every morning!! (-:

  2. Karyn says:

    Such a good mom … to strain his food.
    I loved spinach as a kid, still do. So you never know!


Leave a Reply

