Rain Check!

Let there be teeth! Or rather, let there be tooth, singular.  We cut our first tooth last week! I’m so proud!  He now has the tip of his bottom left incisor sticking out of his gums! I was so elated to see his tooth for about 2.5 seconds.  I had flashes of him chewing away at all the interesting textured foods I am going to make for him; smearing it all over his face and smiling up at me.  Then I snapped back to reality and realized that, oh shit, he’s getting teeth, and the thing he chews on the most right now is ME since he is still nursing. So now the fun begins…::wince::

An interesting side effect of his first tooth popping in is that he quit eating for about a week. I mean, flat out, cold turkey, QUIT.  He went from 1/3-1/2 a cup of  whatever veg/fruit/grain/yogurt mix was being served to not letting the spoon pass his lips.  He clamped those suckers shut and wouldn’t budge.

So you can see why I haven’t been very inspired to cook this last week.  Hence the dearth (yay SAT prep vocab words) of entries and the title of this blog.  You’re going to have to take a rain check on my next blog entry. I mean, who wants to cook for a baby who won’t eat? Don’t get me wrong, I faithfully defrosted or mashed him his breakfast/lunch/dinner all week and tried to feed it to him like it was no big deal, but he just kept saying no. Thankfully though, the tooth is coming in now and he has started to eat again.  Is this going to happen with every new tooth?

Next up is blueberries!  The Texas blueberries are ripe, so I’m going to run out and buy a bunch and cook them up for Simon!  Because everybody needs a purple baby!

For now, enjoy….

3 Comments on “Rain Check!”

  1. Kate says:

    Such a handsome boy, glad he’s eating again!

  2. Aunt Helen says:

    Meggie, He’s absolutely beautiful! You know me, I never go to Facebook and on a whim, went to your site and caught up on the news. He’s definitely all boy and cute as can be. See you at the reunion. Kisses from me. Love you guys.

  3. Karyn says:

    He looks like his dad!


Leave a Reply

